Cat Stevens

Mona Bone Jakon: Limited Sky Blue Vinyl LP


Release date: 5 July, 2024

Note: please allow 5-7 days for shipping.

Following the 1967 Decca releases of Matthew & Son and New Masters, Cat Stevens became a bone fide pop star. However, stardom and a year recovering from TB gave him pause and time to reflect. Emerging from his recuperation with a new deal with Chris Blackwell’s Island Records, 1970 saw the release of Mona Bone Jakon, and with it came a new sound which would forge the Cat Stevens sound we know and love today. Produced by Paul Samwell-Smith (formerly of The Yardbirds), the album featured the single “Lady D’Arbanville” as well as the fan favourites “Trouble”, “I Wish, I Wish” and “Maybe You’re Right”.  The track “Katmandu” also featured Peter Gabriel on flute.

50 years on, the songs on Mona Bone Jakon still sound as fresh as the day they were recorded, and are presented here using the 2020 Remastered audio, on 180 gram Sky Blue vinyl for the very first time.


Side A

  1. Lady D’Arbanville
  2. Maybe You’re Right
  3. Pop Star
  4. I Think I See The Light
  5. Trouble

Side B

  1. Mona Bone Jakon
  2. I Wish, I Wish
  3. Katmandu
  4. Time
  5. Fill My Eyes
  6. Lilywhite
Vinyl LP