JJ Cale

Tulsa Sound Box Set: 9LP


Release date: 6 October, 2023

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of JJ Cale’s career, his first eight, iconic, albums (Naturally, Really, Okie, Troubadour, 5, Shades, Grasshopper, #8) are presented in this limited edition vinyl boxset. Remastered at Abbey Road studios, each album is pressed on 180g colour vinyl. Also included is a bonus 12″ ‘The Early Years’, a collection of his 1960’s singles. The package will contain a 40 page hardback book featuring rare and unseen images, essays, memorabilia and a foreword from legendary guitarist Mark Knopfler of Dire Straits.  This is a high quality and extremely influential body of work from a singular singer-songwriter. Cale’s influence is immeasurable, a point reinforced by the fact that a genre-spanning list of stars including Neil Young, Eric Clapton, Lynyrd Skynyrd, John Mayer, Johnny Cash, Captain Beefheart, Santana, The Allman Brothers, Jerry Garcia, The Band, Chet Atkins, Freddie King, Beck, Band of Horses, Waylon Jennings, Tom Petty, Dan Auerbach, and many more have covered his timeless music. “One of the most important artists in the history of rock, quietly representing the greatest asset his country has ever had…He has been an incredible inspiration to me. His records are really minimal, light, it’s all about finesse. It’s almost like he’s whispering in your ear but you hear everything single word. I don’t know how he does it. It’s such a cunning technique.” – Eric Clapton “Of all the players I ever heard, it’s gotta be Hendrix and J.J. Cale who are the best electric guitar players.” – Neil Young “One of our favourite songwriters is a man named JJ Cale. He’s a fantastic writer.” – Tom Petty “JJ Cale kept me falling in love with guitar, kept me wanting to play the instrument.  But most important for me, I think, is the songwriter in him, the deep well of creativity that has given us so many bewitching songs to treasure.” – Mar


Naturally - Side A

  1. Call Me The Breeze
  2. Call The Doctor
  3. Don't Go To Strangers
  4. Woman I Love
  5. Magnolia
  6. Clyde

Naturally - Side B

  1. Crazy Mama
  2. Nowhere To Run
  3. After Midnight
  4. River Runs Deep
  5. Bringing It Back
  6. Crying Eyes

Really - Side A

  1. Lies
  2. Everything Will Be Alright
  3. I'll Kiss The World Goodbye
  4. Changes
  5. Right Down Here
  6. If You're Ever In Oklahoma

Really - Side B

  1. Ridin Home'
  2. Going Down
  3. Soulin'
  4. Playing In The Street
  5. Mo Jo
  6. Louisiana Women

Okie - Side A

  1. Crying
  2. I'll Be There (If You Ever Want Me)
  3. Starbound
  4. Rock And Roll Records
  5. The Old Man And Me
  6. Everlovin' Woman

Okie - Side B

  1. Cajun Moon
  2. I'd Like To Love You Baby
  3. Anyway The Wind Blows
  4. Precious Memories
  5. Okie
  6. I Got The Same Old Blues

Troubadour - Side A

  1. Hey Baby
  2. Travelin' Light
  3. You Got Something
  4. Ride Me High
  5. Hold On
  6. Cocaine

Troubadour - Side B

  1. I'm A Gypsy Man
  2. The Woman That Got Away
  3. Super Blue
  4. Let Me Do It To You
  5. Cherry
  6. You Got Me On So Bad

5 - Side A

  1. Thirteen Days
  2. Boilin' Pot
  3. I'll Make Love To You Anytime
  4. Don't Cry Sister
  5. Too Much For Me
  6. Sensitive Kind

5 - Side B

  1. Friday
  2. Lou-Easy-Ann
  3. Let's Go To Tahiti
  4. Katy Kool Lady
  5. Fate Of A Fool
  6. Mona

Shades - Side A

  1. Carry On
  2. Deep Dark Dungeon
  3. Wish I Had Not Said That
  4. Pack My Jack
  5. If You Leave Her

Shades - Side B

  1. Mama Don't
  2. Runaround
  3. What Do You Expect
  4. Love Has Been Gone
  5. Cloudy Day

Grasshopper - Side A

  1. City Girls
  2. Devil In Disguise
  3. One Step Ahead Of The Blues
  4. You Keep Me Hangin' On
  5. Downtown L.A.
  6. Can't Live Here
  7. Grasshopper

Grasshopper - Side B

  1. Drifters Wife
  2. Don't Wait
  3. A Thing Going On
  4. Nobody But You
  5. Mississippi River
  6. Does Your Mama Like To Reggae
  7. Dr. Jive

#8 - Side A

  1. Money Talks
  2. Losers
  3. Hard Times
  4. Reality
  5. Takin' Care Of Business

#8 - Side B

  1. People Lie
  2. Unemployment
  3. Trouble In The City
  4. Teardrops In My Tequila
  5. Livin' Here Too

The Early Years - Side A

  1. Dick Tracy
  2. It's A Go-Go Place
  3. Outside Looking In

The Early Years - Side B

  1. In Our Time
  2. After Midnight
  3. Slow Motion


Vinyl Box Set