• Pre-Order
Duke Ellington & Johnny Hodges

Back to Back (Acoustic Sounds): Vinyl LP


Release date: 24 May, 2024

Several times in his career star alto-saxophone soloist Johnny Hodges struck out on his own, only to return each time to Duke Ellington's band. Critic Michael Ullman suggested that the blues classics chosen for this program may have been neutral ground, where Ellington's playing could come to the fore and Hodges' irrepressible sensuality could have free rein. This is one of the very best small-group records Ellington ever made — a perfectly integrated set of music that truly swings the blues.

Side A

1. Wabash Blues
2. Basin Street Blues
3. Beale Street Blues

Side B

1. Weary Blues
2. St. Louis Blues
3. Loveless Love
4. Royal Garden Blues

Vinyl LP