Riccardo Chailly: Brahms: The Symphonies
More images

Brahms: The Symphonies

Riccardo Chailly

  • US $18.99
    Delivery from US $4.49

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 October 2013
  • Dispatched within 3-5 days
Product code
Triple CD Album
Number of Discs

Riccardo Chailly

Following the 2011 landmark Beethoven cycle, Riccardo Chailly returns with a recording of the complete Brahms symphonies and orchestral works including the overtures and Haydn Variations.

Rarities include world premiere recordings of two piano intermezzi orchestrated by Paul Klengel (brother of the Gewandhaus’ long-standing principal cellist Julius Klengel); the 9 Liebeslieder waltzes; the original first performance version of the Andante of Symphony No. 1 and the even rarer revised opening of the Fourth Symphony.

Chailly has radically rethought his approach to these works, re-examining the scores and returning to the recorded interpretations of a generation of conductors alive during Brahms’ lifetime, principally Felix Weingartner and one of his Gewandhaus predecessors Bruno Walter.

Chailly’s Brahms is highly regarded by leading critics "Chailly has worked well to create a style of interpretation which mixes the orchestra's 250-year-old tradition with thoroughly modern, historically informed performance practice. This made for no-nonsense, unstuffy, youthful Brahms." - Musical Criticism 2007

The Daily Telegraph reviewing his Prom’s performance of the Fourth Symphony wrote "Chailly is not a conductor to linger unnecessarily, and he injected the first movement with an uncommon surge and passion…the finale’s fusion of structural grandeur and instrumental detail was conveyed with a masterly sense of direction and purpose."

In October/November 2013 Chailly and the Gewandhausorchester will have residencies in London, Paris and Vienna and Leipzig to perform the complete Brahms symphonies and concertos.

Leonidas Kavakos and Riccardo Chailly have also specially recorded the Brahms Violin Concerto in Leipzig for release as a separate album due in October 2013. Kavakos will perform the concerto in all four tour venues in October/November 2013 – Leipzig; London; Paris & Vienna – as well as the Brahms Double Concerto.

The outstanding pedigree of the Chailly/Leipzig partnership in Brahms was last seen in the award-winning set of the piano concertos Chailly recorded with Nelson Freire, the Gramophone Recording of the Year in 2007.

CD 1
Brahms, Johannes Symphony no. 1 in C minor op. 68
1 I. Un Poco Sostenuto - Allegro
2 II. Andante Sostenuto
3 III. Un Poco Allegretto E Grazioso
4 IV. Adagio - Allegro Non Troppo Ma Con Brio

Symphony no. 3 in F op. 90
5 I. Allegro Con Brio - Un Poco Sostenuto
6 II. Andante
7 III. Poco Allegretto
8 IV Allegro

CD 2
Brahms, Johannes Symphony no. 2 in D major op. 73
1 I. Allegro Non Troppo
2 II. Adagio Non Troppo
3 III. Allegretto Grazioso (Quasi Andantino) - Presto, Ma Non Assai
4 IV. Allegro Con Spirito

Symphony no. 4 in E minor op. 98
5 I. Allegro Non Troppo
6 II. Andante Moderato
7 III. Allegro Giocoso
8 IV. Allegro Energico E Passionato
9 Revised opening Symphony No 4, 1st movement

CD 3
Brahms, Johannes
1 Tragic Overture Op. 81
2 Intermezzo op. 116/4, arranged by Paul Klengel
3 Intermezzo op. 117/1, arranged by Paul Klengel

Variations on a theme by Joseph Haydn Op. 56a
4 Tema, Chorale St. Antoni, Andante
5 Var. 1, Poco più animato
6 Var. 2, Più vivace
7 Var. 3, Con moto
8 Var. 4, Andante con moto
9 Var. 5, Vivace
10 Var. 6, Vivace
11 Var. 7, Grazioso
12 Var. 8, Presto non troppo
13 Finale, Andante

Liebesliederwalzer Op. 52 & 65
14 Op. 52 No. 1
15 Op. 52 No. 2
16 Op. 52 No. 4
17 Op. 52 No. 6
18 Op. 52 No. 5
19 Op. 65 No. 9
20 Op. 52 No. 11
21 Op. 52 No. 8
22 Op. 52 No. 9
23 Symphony no. 1 – Andante (original first performance version)
24 Academic Festival Overture Op. 80
25 Hungarian Dance no. 1
26 Hungarian Dance no. 3
27 Hungarian Dance no. 10