The Brother Jack McDuff Quartet with George Benson: The New Boss Guitar

The New Boss Guitar

The Brother Jack McDuff Quartet with George Benson

  • US $27.99  

  • Release Date 01 September 2014
  • Dispatched within 3-5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes MP3 version

George Benson was only 21 when, on May 1, 1964, he recorded his first album as a leader, The New Boss Guitar of George Benson. At that point, the guitarist had yet to become a huge name in jazz, although many of those who knew Benson agreed that he showed great potential. This is an impressive debut. The guitarist had developed a distinctive, recognizable sound on his instrument, and he plays with both feeling and technique on five Benson originals (including the sly "Shadow Dancers," the exuberant "Rock-A-Bye," and the earthy blues "I Don't Know") as well as interpretations of "Easy Living" and "Will You Still Be Mine." This album is historically important as well as rewarding.

1. Shadow Dancers
2. The Sweet Alice Blues
3. I Don’t Know
4. Just Another Sunday
5. Will You Still Be Mine?
6. Easy Living
7. Rock-A-Bye
8. My Three Sons