Fairport Convention: Liege & Lief

Liege & Lief

Fairport Convention

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 21 July 2014
  • Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes MP3 version

Remarkably, Liege & Lief was the third album released by Fairport Convention in the calendar year of 1969, all produced by Joe Boyd. It is widely considered to be the definitive electric, British folk rock album and arguably the first ever. Six of the eight songs are radically modernised version of traditional folk tunes. Recorded less than six months after the motorway crash which killed the group’s original drummer Martin Lamble, Liege & Lief was the only album recorded by the short-lived Fairport Convention line-up of Sandy Denny – Vocals, Richard Thompson – Guitar, Simon Nicol – Guitar, Ashley Hutchings – Bass, Dave Mattacks –Drums and Dave Swarbrick – Violin and Viola. By the time Liege & Lief was released in December 1969 both Sandy Denny and Ashley Hutchings had left the group. The musicianship is outstanding, the arrangements are unique and inspiring and Denny’s singing is peerless and revelatory; the impact and influence of Liege & Lief still resonates to this day.

1. Come All Ye
2. Reynardine
3. Matty Groves
4. Farewell, Farewell
5. The Deserter
6. Medley: The Lark In The Morning/Rakish Paddy/Foxhunter's Jig/Toss The Feathers
7. Tam Lin
8. Crazy Man Michael

More products from Fairport Convention

Fairport Convention: A Tree With Roots - Fairport Convention And The Songs Of Bob Dylan
Fairport Convention
A Tree With Roots - Fairport Convention And The Songs Of Bob Dylan
CD Album
In Stock
Fairport Convention: Meet Me On The Ledge: The Collection
Fairport Convention
Meet Me On The Ledge: The Collection
Vinyl LP
In Stock