Matt Monro: Stranger In Paradise – The Lost New York Sessions

Stranger In Paradise – The Lost New York Sessions

Matt Monro

  • US$8.00
    Delivery from US$6.49

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 13 March 2020
  • In Stock
Product code
Double CD Album
UMR / Virgin EMI
Bringing together Matt Monro’s great “lost” Broadway album and 27 of the British singer’s biggest hits, the 2CD collection ‘Stranger In Paradise’ showcases the immense vocal talents of whom Frank Sinatra once noted – “His pitch was right on the nose; his word enunciations letter perfect; his understanding of a song thorough.”

Recently unearthed from the Capitol Records vaults, disc 1 captures Matt and an intimate grouping of musicians interpreting some of the great Broadway classics of the day, including ‘The Impossible Dream’, ‘Hello Dolly’ and of course, ‘Stranger In Paradise’. The search in the vault has also unearthed two previously undiscovered Matt tracks – Beautiful Beautiful World and What Makes It Happen which make their debut here.

Meanwhile disc 2 includes all the classics for which Matt’s been revered, both then and now, including ‘Born Free’, ‘From Russia With Love’, and ‘On Days Like These’
1 Impossible Dream  
2 Stranger In Paradise  
3 Put On A Happy Face  
4 Hello Dolly  
5 The Apple Tree  
6 If She Walked Into My Life  
7 The Sweetest Sounds  
8 Sunrise Sunset  
9 Walking Happy  
10 I Only Miss Her When I Think Of Her  
11 Come Back To Me  
12 Look For Small Pleasures  
13 The Lady Smiles  
14 Lover’s Caravan  
15 Beautiful Beautiful World  
16 What Makes It Happen  
17 The Apple Tree (Alternate Vocal)  
18 The Lady Smiles (Take 5)  
19 Lover’s Caravan (Take 2)  
20 What Makes It Happen (Take 5)  
1 Portrait of My Love  
2 My Kind of Girl  
3 Gonna Build a Mountain  
4 Softly As I Leave You  
5 From Russia With Love  
6 Walk Away  
7 Yesterday  
8 Born Free  
9 This Is The Life  
10 On a Clear Day  
11 Don’t Answer Me  
12 Honey On The Vine  
13 Wednesdays Child  
14 I Will Wait For You  
15 Georgie Girl  
16 Spanish Eyes  
17 When I Look In Your Eyes  
18 Pretty Polly  
19 Maria  
20 The Music Played  
21 All of a Sudden  
22 On Days Like These  
23 Two People  
24 Everybody’s Talking  
25 We’re Gonna Change The World  
26 And You Smiled  
27 If I Never Sing Another Song