Oscar Peterson: Night Train

Night Train

Oscar Peterson

  • US$31.99
    Delivery from US$8.52

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 March 2016
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

From the opening bars of the title track of this beautiful album, Oscar Peterson lays down the kind of piano playing for which he had been famous for well over a decade; the deftness of touch, the almost slight of hand, as he beguiles the listener into making it sound all too easy. Peterson talks through the piano and at his best he makes the piano sing. Just listen to “Georgia On My Mind” – who needs a vocal? While Peterson has at times, unfairly, been called an unemotional pianist, that is not a criticism that can be levelled at Night Train. It is a beautifully recorded album that makes the piano, long-time Peterson trio bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen sound as though they are in the room. Despite having sold Verve to MGM two years earlier, Norman Granz produced this album as he was Oscar Peterson’s manager; it is a fitting tribute to both performer and mentor.

Includes a voucher to download MP3 version of the album

1 Night Train  
2 C Jam Blues  
3 Georgia On My Mind  
4 Bag's Groove  
5 Moten Swing  
6 Easy Does It  
7 Honey Dripper  
8 Things Ain't What They Used To Be  
9 I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good  
10 Band Call  
11 Hymn To Freedom  

More products from Oscar Peterson

Oscar Peterson: 5 Original Albums
Oscar Peterson
5 Original Albums
CD Box Set
In Stock