Fairport Convention: Liege & Lief

Liege & Lief

Fairport Convention

  • US $24.99  

  • Release Date 21 July 2014
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes MP3 version

Remarkably, Liege & Lief was the third album released by Fairport Convention in the calendar year of 1969, all produced by Joe Boyd. It is widely considered to be the definitive electric, British folk rock album and arguably the first ever. Six of the eight songs are radically modernised version of traditional folk tunes. Recorded less than six months after the motorway crash which killed the group’s original drummer Martin Lamble, Liege & Lief was the only album recorded by the short-lived Fairport Convention line-up of Sandy Denny – Vocals, Richard Thompson – Guitar, Simon Nicol – Guitar, Ashley Hutchings – Bass, Dave Mattacks –Drums and Dave Swarbrick – Violin and Viola. By the time Liege & Lief was released in December 1969 both Sandy Denny and Ashley Hutchings had left the group. The musicianship is outstanding, the arrangements are unique and inspiring and Denny’s singing is peerless and revelatory; the impact and influence of Liege & Lief still resonates to this day.

1. Come All Ye
2. Reynardine
3. Matty Groves
4. Farewell, Farewell
5. The Deserter
6. Medley: The Lark In The Morning/Rakish Paddy/Foxhunter's Jig/Toss The Feathers
7. Tam Lin
8. Crazy Man Michael

More products from Fairport Convention

Fairport Convention: Come All Ye - The First Ten Years
Fairport Convention
Come All Ye - The First Ten Years
CD Box Set
US $77.99
In Stock
Fairport Convention: A Tree With Roots - Fairport Convention And The Songs Of Bob Dylan
Fairport Convention
A Tree With Roots - Fairport Convention And The Songs Of Bob Dylan
CD Album
US $8.99
In Stock