Linton Kwesi Johnson: Forces of Victory (Black History Month): 2LP

Forces of Victory (Black History Month): 2LP

Linton Kwesi Johnson

  • US$46.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 31 December 2022
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
In 2003 David Bowie included Forces of Victory in a list of his 25 favourite albums - Confessions of a Vinyl Junkie…

“… some of the most moving poetry to be found in popular music. The quite achingly sad “Sonny’s Lettah (Anti-Sus Poem)” is alone worth the price of admission … this must be one of the most important reggae records of all time. I gave my original copy just recently to Mos Def, in whom I see connections to Johnson, thinking I had already got it on CD. Dammit, I haven’t. So now I’m searching high and low for a copy”

• Having exploded onto the UK scene in 1978 with the dark, angry masterpiece, Dread Beat & Blood, Brixton ‘dub-poet’ Linton Kwesi Johnson returned in April 1979, with Forces Of Victory - the record that cemented his growing reputation as a major talent.

• Produced by LKJ and Dennis ‘Blackbeard’ Bovell and featuring his Dub Band providing the infectious grooves, the record contains some of Johnson's most memorable songs/poems, such as the heartbreaking prison story of injustice, Sonny's Lettah, the challenging, anti-racist Fite Dem Back, and the jazz-tinged single Want Fi Goh Rave.

• The album is dramatic and intense to the point of claustrophobia - featuring both wry observation and deep political conviction, delivered in LKJ’s unmistakable Jamaican patois. Not simply one of the most important reggae records of its time, it's one of the most important reggae records ever recorded.

LP One Side A

1. Want Fi Goh Rave

2. It Noh Funny

3. Sonny's Lettah (Anti-Sus Poem)

4. Independent Intavenshan

Side B

1. Fite Dem Back

2. Reality Poem

3. Forces Of Vicktry

4. Time Come

LP Two Side A

1. Want Fi Goh Rave (Ext.) 12” single version

2. Funny Dub

3. Iron Bar Dub

Side B

1. Brain Smashing Dub

2. Reality Poem (Ext.) 12” single version

3. Victorious Dub