Nicolas Godin: Concrete And Glass

Concrete And Glass

Nicolas Godin

  • US$12.99
    Delivery from US$5.69

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 January 2020
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Album
Because Music
When Air’s Nicolas Godin released his debut solo album, Contrepoint (2015), he channelled the influence of Bach into a rich, resonant and hugely rewarding spread of musical explorations. One soundtrack (A Very Secret Service) later, Godin builds on equally fertile conceptual foundations for the follow-up. Released through Because Music on 24th January, Concrete and Glass is an exquisitely crafted set of variations on architectural reference points: mounted with minimalist precision and delivered with an abundance of pop warmth, it finds Godin in his element, working seductive wonders with poise and style to spare.

For Godin, the album circles back to his formative work as half of ground-breaking French electronic group Air. Revered modern architect Le Corbusier was an influence on the young architecture graduate’s music, notably on his 1997 debut “Modular Mix”. Twenty-plus years later, Le Corbusier featured on a list of modernist architects Godin was invited to compose tributes for, tributes intended to be heard as the soundtrack to site-specific installations around the world.

In its soft ambient pulse and melting minimalism, lead track “The Border” is a perfect entry-point to Godin’s hymns to buildings, arranged and co-produced with Pierre Rousseau. Its levitating synths, vocoder vocals and scudding bass hove into view with understated elegance, all the better to accommodate the discreet slow-build of delicate details within. As with Air, Godin makes gorgeously light work of every angle: this is music that seems entirely unperturbed by gravity, occupying an elevated atmosphere of its own.

1 Concrete And Glass  
2 Back To Your Heart (feat. Kate NV)  
3 We Forgot To Love (feat. Kadhja Bonet)  
4 What Makes Me Think About You  
5 Time On My Hands (feat. Kirin J Callinan)  
6 The Foundation (feat. Cola Boyy)  
7 Catch Yourself Falling (feat. Alexis Taylor)  
8 The Border  
9 Turn Right, Turn Left  
10 Cité Radieuse  

More products from Nicolas Godin

Nicolas Godin: Concrete And Glass
Nicolas Godin
Concrete And Glass
Vinyl LP + CD
Dispatched within 3-5 days