The Verve: A Northern Soul (Deluxe)

A Northern Soul (Deluxe)

The Verve

  • US $40.99
  • US $25.00  

  • Release Date 09 September 2016
  • In Stock
Product code
Triple CD Album

Released in the UK on 3 July 1995, A Northern Soul, which spawned three Top 40 hit singles- This Is Music, On Your Own and History - was well-received by critics and fans alike, reaching No. 13 on the UK album chart. Over the past two decades it has continued to gather acclaim - readers of Q Magazine voted it the 53rd greatest album ever in 1998 while the NME ranked it the 28th best album of all time in 2003 and the 13th best British album in 2006. Undoubtedly, it is one of the most powerful British ‘indie-rock’ statements ever.

A darker, starker, and more personal affair than their debut, A Northern Soul saw Ashcroft eschewing the strung-out positivism of their debut for sober ruminations on the human condition. The result? Timeless ballads like On Your Own that contrasted with ambitious workouts even more explosive than before - notably A New Decade and the titanic This Is Music. A general mood of doubt, and even ennui, however, is there as an undercurrent, best exeplified by the prophetic torch song History, a Top 30 hit. When news of the band’s break up came shortly before its release it sounded like it might even become the band’s epitaph.

For this super deluxe reissue, the album has been remastered and, once again, augmented by the inclusion of all associated B-sides, two previously unreleased BBC radio sessions and seven unreleased studio tracks, including powerful early versions of The Rolling People and Come On (later re-recorded for Urban Hymns) as well as Mover and Muhammad Ali, songs that were to be revisited for The Verve’s 2008 reunion album, Forth.

The package, comes in a lift-off-lid box, covered with silver mirri board as with the original 2LP vinyl release, and features four post cards, a poster and a 36-page book featuring interviews with the band (Richard aside) and never-before-seen photos by bass player Simon Jones, Chris Floyd and Michael Spencer Jones.

CD1: The Remastered Album

  1. A New Decade
  2. This Is Music
  3. On Your Own
  4. So It Goes
  5. A Northern Soul
  6. Brainstorm Interlude
  7. Drive You Home
  8. History
  9. No Knock On My Door
  10. Life’s An Ocean
  11. Stormy Clouds
  12. (Reprise)
CD2: B-Sides
    This Is Music:
  1. Let The Damage Begin
  2. You And Me

  3. On Your Own:
  4. I See The Door
  5. Little Gem
  6. Dance On Your Bones

  7. History:
  8. History (radio edit)
  9. Back On My Feet Again
  10. On Your Own (Acoustic)
  11. Monkey Magic (Brainstorm Mix)
  12. Grey Skies
  13. Life’s Not A Rehearsal
CD3 – Unreleased Studio and BBC Sessions:
  1. Brake Lights
  2. Mover
  3. Funky Jam (aka the Rolling People)
  4. Echo Bass
  5. Muhammad Ali
  6. Come On
  7. King Riff (aka This Is Music)

  8. BBC Radio 1 Session – 28/6/1995:
  9. On Your Own
  10. So It Goes

  11. BBC Radio 1 Session (19/6/1995):
  12. A New Decade
  13. This Is Music
  14. Life’s An Ocean
  15. Come On

More products from The Verve

The Verve: A Storm In Heaven
The Verve
A Storm In Heaven
Vinyl LP
US $24.00
In Stock
The Verve: A Northern Soul + A Storm In Heaven LPs - 15% Off
The Verve
A Northern Soul + A Storm In Heaven LPs - 15% Off
US $44.00
Dispatched within 3-5 days
The Verve: Urban Hymns (20th Anniversary Edition)
The Verve
Urban Hymns (20th Anniversary Edition)
CD Album
US $9.99
In Stock
The Verve: Urban Hymns: Deluxe (20th Anniversary Edition)
The Verve
Urban Hymns: Deluxe (20th Anniversary Edition)
Double CD Album
US $16.99
In Stock
The Verve: Urban Hymns: Super Deluxe (20th Anniversary Edition)
The Verve
Urban Hymns: Super Deluxe (20th Anniversary Edition)
CD Box Set
US $64.99
Dispatched within 3-5 days
The Verve: Urban Hymns
The Verve
Urban Hymns
Double Vinyl LP
US $23.99
Dispatched within 3-5 days