T'Pau: T’Pau – The Virgin Anthology

T’Pau – The Virgin Anthology


  • US $51.99  

  • Release Date 24 March 2017
  • In Stock
Product code
CD Box Set
UMC / Virgin EMI

4-disc box set with 49-page book.

This collection is a comprehensive, 4-CD curation of T'Pau's Virgin Records career: all those glorious singles from the mighty, quadruple platinum debut album ‘Bridge Of Spies’ ('87), the two Top Ten albums which followed, the platinum-selling ‘Rage’ ('88) and Top 10 gold-selling ‘The Promise’ ('91), plus a glimmering collector's grotto of B-sides, remixes, tantalising rarities and unreleased demo versions of the songs which lit up the late-‘80s skyline like luminous shooting stars. In the era's dominant teen-pop landscape T'Pau were a proper band, their stadium-level ambition powering into realisation via one of the most distinctive vocalists in history, Carol's singular force-of-nature tone somehow merging, stunningly, the youthful euphoria of the ingénue with the depths of a woman's wisdom.

Disc 1 of the set brings together FOR THE FIRST TIME all of the single edits of T'Pau's Virgin releases. Disc 2 contains remixes, rarities and demos that top any T'Pau fan’s wish list. Disc 2 includes highly sought after and not currently available Canadian remixes of ‘Running Away’, ‘Arms of Love’ and ‘Island’. Disc 3 is the UK Top 10 album ‘Rage’ with single B-sides. Disc 4 - the band's final studio album – ‘The Promise’ - again with its single B-sides.

This sumptuous box set includes unseen photos, memorabilia and an essay by Sylvia Patterson, ex-‘Smash Hits’ writer and author of acclaimed book (nominated for the Costa Award) ‘I'm Not With the Band’.

About the new box set, vocalist Carol Decker says:
"Sometimes those early heady days of the band feel like a hundred years ago and another lifetime and sometimes it feels like five minutes ago with the memories vivid of the sweaty clubs and pubs we played honing our act as a young band in Shropshire. As the band took off on the coat tails of our quadruple platinum debut album ‘Bridge of Spies’, life took on a hectic pace.

We were constantly either in a TV or recording studio. We had endless meetings with the record company and producers. We worked with the very best photographers on album /single /magazine cover shots, with stylists and makeup artists primping us and dressing us in the latest gear. We enjoyed first class travel even private jets! We were invited on yachts and private islands. We played to Royalty, met the great and the good and the disappointing. Being in a successful rock band is a uniquely fabulous experience.

All of this was made possible by the quality of the songs, the talent of the band and producers, the team work of the label and of course, the fans. So thank you for a wonderful thirty years in the business. It’s been a privilege”.

Disc One - The Singles

1. Heart and Soul (single)
2. China In Your Hand (single)
3. Valentine (single)
4. Sex Talk (Live) (single)
5. I Will Be With You (album)
6. Bridge of Spies (US single edit – never previously released in the UK)
7. Secret Garden (single)
8. Road To Our Dream (single)
9. Only The Lonely (Canadian Guitar Remix) (single remix from Canada ‘Rage’ album)
10. Whenever You Need Me (single)
11. Walk On Air
12. Soul Destruction (single remix)
13. Only A Heartbeat (single edit)

Disc 2 – Remixes, Rarities and Demos
1. Bridge of Spies (AOR Mix) (Previously unreleased in the UK)
2. Arms Of Love (Canadian Remix) (Only released in Canada)
3. Running Away (Canadian Remix) (Only released in Canada)
4. Island (Canadian Remix) (Only released in Canada)
5. Only The Lonely (Nightmare Mix) (A side 12")
6. Whenever You Need Me (Extended Mix) (A Side 12")
7. Whenever You Need Me (Requiem Remix)
8. Soul Destruction (Extended Remix)
9. Soul Destruction (Heavy Bliss Remix)
10. Heart and Soul (Demo Version) (Unreleased)
11. I Will Be With You (Demo Version) (Unreleased)
12. Soul Destruction (Demo Version) (Unreleased)
13. Whenever You need Me (Demo Version) (Unreleased)
14. Only A Heartbeat (Demo Version) (Unreleased)
15. The Promise (Demo Version) (Unreleased)

Disc 3 – Rage + B-Sides
1. Arms Of Love
2. Only The Lonely
3. Running Away
4. Between The Lines
5. Road To Our Dream
6. Island
7. Heaven
8. Taking Time Out
9. Secret Garden
10. Time Will Tell
11. This Girl
12. Time Of Our Lives (B-Side)
13. Call Me (B-Side)
14. Road To Our Dream (Instrumental) (B-Side)
15. Crying (B-Side)
16. You Never Notice Me (Live Hammersmith Odeon) (B-Side)
17. Downtown (Live At Oxford) (B-Side)

Disc Four - The Promise + B-Sides
1. Soul Destruction
2. Whenever You Need Me
3. Walk On Air

4. Made Of Money

5. Hold On To Love

6. Strange Place

7. One Direction

8. Only A Heartbeat

9. The Promise
10. A Place In My Heart
11. Man And Woman

12. Purity

13. All The Love (B-side)
14. Dirty Town (B-Side)
15. Hold On To Love (Acoustic) (B-Side)